Scene breakdown.

The scene I chose is one from Boyz n the Hood (1991). Boyz n the Hood is about 3 boys and there life’s growing up in the hood. The scene I chose is where Ricky dies due to a gang drive by. The reason I chose this scene is that it demonstrates a lot of use of rented items and will be good to break down.

For this scene I will research the following things:

vehicles- When hiring classic vehicles there is a range of websites to chose from however I found the most helpful was filmcars.co.uk. As all the cars can be found through a filtered search to find specific cars, which was good in my case because the cars I wanted to find were very specific. the filter include years the cars came out and manufacture company if I had to say anything bad about the website it doesn’t display an exact hiring amount and you have to ask for a reference which is not helpful in early stages of research. I managed to find the Chevrolet impala but it wasn’t the exact model as it wasn’t the exact year.However I did find a wide range of Chevrolet impala models so there was a lot of the same car to chose from which is very helpful. Hyundai was not even a choice on the website so I had to look elsewhere after ages of looking I could not  find anything related to the Hyundai excel so the easiest option from there would be to buy one.

IMCDb.org: “Boyz n the Hood, 1991”: cars, bikes, trucks and other vehicles. 2016. IMCDb.org: “Boyz n the Hood, 1991”: cars, bikes, trucks and other vehicles. [ONLINE] Available at:http://www.imcdb.org/movie.php?id=101507. [Accessed 13 November 2016].

 

location- I didn’t quite know where to approach locations so I thought the best thing to do was to research where the actual film was filmed and not just where it was set. I also looked at other movies in similar categories to compare. most of them lead to Inglewood California because of the high crime rates in where it was set Compton and Crenshaw. I thought this was probably the best place as it is also in the same state. The next step to take from here would to be to contact the council of Inglewood to see if I could hire a street for a few hours or so in off peak times of the day. Obviously due to the fact I live in the UK and i’m not actually looking hire a street I couldn’t do this but I was told that when hiring streets you usually directed to special firm which deals with the film and TV industries. There were also other places I could film such as Detroit and places round New York and Harlem but none of the quite matched to Inglewood.

IMDb. 2016. Boyz n the Hood (1991) – Filming Locations – IMDb. [ONLINE] Available at:http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0101507/locations. [Accessed 13 November 2016].

inglewood california – DDC Yahoo Search Results. 2016. inglewood california – DDC Yahoo Search Results. [ONLINE] Available at:https://uk.search.yahoo.com/yhs/search;_ylt=A7x9UnDsfShYdlAAsy93Bwx.;_ylc=X1MDMjExNDcxNzU1OQRfcgMyBGZyA3locy1kZGMtZGRjX2JkBGdwcmlkAzczMkN6YV85VHZtSjNvWnZZa1o3TkEEbl9yc2x0AzAEbl9zdWdnAzUEb3JpZ2luA3VrLnNlYXJjaC55YWhvby5jb20EcG9zAzEEcHFzdHIDaW5nbGV3b29kJTIwY2FsaQRwcXN0cmwDMTQEcXN0cmwDMjIEcXVlcnkDaW5nbGV3b29kJTIwY2FsaWZvcm5pYQR0X3N0bXADMTQ3OTA0ODY5NQ–?p=inglewood+california&fr2=sa-gp-uk.search&hspart=ddc&hsimp=yhs-ddc_bd&type=bl-bcr-6YC4A__alt__ddc_dss_bd_com. [Accessed 13 November 2016].

animals- when researching into dogs to use on set I found a website with nearly every breed of dog. The only problem was that because of the quality of film I didn’t know what breed of dog I needed to find so I found the general website to hire all trained dogs. The website is very well laid out with three options large, small and medium dogs and various breeds to chose from. It also has other animals like snakes and lizards it doesn’t have a direct price for hiring so again no general idea but everything you need is nicely laid out. It also for some breeds has character dogs which is basically dogs with quirky traits which I found particularly interesting.

Character Dogs for Hire | A-Z Dogs. 2016. Character Dogs for Hire | A-Z Dogs. [ONLINE] Available at:http://www.a-zdogs.co.uk/dogs-for-hire/character. [Accessed 13 November 2016].

costume- For costume I researched into angels costume hire I found this was the best site as it provides for most TV and film sets around the us. It’s brilliantly laid out with a description reading ” eight miles of hanging costume we can supply whatever you need for your production – large or small.” Also if they don’t have what your looking for they can hook you up with someone that dose or they can make it for you. This website is good in my case as I’m looking for 1990s men’s fashion and also 1990s gang fashion and I feel like angles would be able to sort that out easily. If I had anything bad to say it would be that there’s no catalogue sort of section where you can view all the clothing but I feel like the reason for this is the extensive range of items.

Angels Costumes. Costume suppliers to the entertainment industry, film, television and theatre, photographic, pop promos.. 2016. Angels Costumes. Costume suppliers to the entertainment industry, film, television and theatre, photographic, pop promos.. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.angels.uk.com/index. [Accessed 14 November 2016].

 

 

 

 

